Posted on

Bordom down to my Science

Okay, so I have no clue if bordom has been deeply studied by scientists and what it really is, but here’s my thought on it. My scientific version of bordom is the obvious, being tired of the same activity. Animals get bored, too. Dogs and cats both, it’s commmonly known. I always think our dog gets bored when he decides to chew the chair leg or even work his teeth into the peeling lenolium on the kitchen floor. Or my catw when she finds herself in the closet and meows as if she’s so lost and I have to rescue her, when all she has to do is turn around and walk out. A cat walking on the piano keys, like one of our cats does, means its bored, I feel, and not a sign of the next four-legged Mozart. So, now that we got that out of the way, I’m thinking of why we do the weird stuff when bored. Why do we decide to do something crazy because we felt like it? LIke when I was standing around between washing dogs and waiting for them to dry. Too much time to do nothing. so I took a cue tip and a scrap of paper towel and poked a hole in the paper towel to stick on the cue tip as my version of the world’s tiniest umbrella. Then the manager walked in and asked me, smiling, “what erare you doing?” as I dangle my legs over the edge of the dryer as it tumbles towels. “Nothing,” I say, startled at seeigseeing her, and drop my world’s first micro umbrella for a–haha–microburst storm. “I see that,” she answers as I jump down to the floor and try to act normal. “I got bored,” I said, feeling suddenly dumb, “and tried making an umbrella,” I held up the world’s smallest, droopiest umbrella out to her. She’s not impressed. The umbrella would only block out two raindrops.
So that was on Christmas Eve. NO one wanted to work that day and neither did I , and we were all bored in a sense. Bordom is also a time of being dissatisfied with the familiar things around you. You might have a lot of options, like the choice between going for a bike ride, watching TV, or writing that poem, but to each one as you run through the ideas, they don’t appeal to you. ARe you spoiled for turnign down so many choices? maybe. But none of them sound good. So you look elsewhere, and hopefully it’s not in drugs or drinking, or in a recent, real crime, stealing gold-plated tombstones from Veterans because you were bored. Yes, that latter part really happened in my area and the stones may not be replaced because of their expense. So, bordom can drive a person crazy. To do crazy, stupid, sick things. All in all, bordom is just a feeling we cope with. NOt the greatest thing to feel. I think it rates up there with depression and disappointment. TIP: Feeling bored? Go to http://www.bored.com for links in all areas, including humor, fun, games, romance, movies, music, and even dumb and weird sites collected especially to suit your mood. And if you want the latest insite into the world on your radio dial, visit http://www.theradiokid.wordpress.com right here!

About annothray

I enjoy swimming, writing poetry and journaling, animals, fantasy and soft science fiction, playing drums and taking in nature. I have an Associate's with a concentration in psychology and enjoy understanding the unsolved mysteries of everyday experiences of others' and myself recorded here on this blog.

Leave a comment